The British Geotechnical Association (BGA) is the principal
association for geotechnical engineers in the United Kingdom.

Early Career Group Committee

The Early Career Group Committee are responsible for organising events and courses aimed specifically at young professionals in the geotechnical engineering industry. The ECG are also responsible for arranging competitions and reporting to the BGA Executive Committee on matters affecting ECG members.

To get involved or to find out more about the ECG committee contact We hold meetings monthly to plan our events and activities. The key committee roles are typically refreshed in September/October every other year through an informal elections process, but members can get involved at any time of the year.

For the 2021-2023 election cycle, Committee elections have taken place in April 2021 (Current committee), but if you are interested in getting involved, we are looking for new members to join the ECG Committee in our London, South West and North hubs. Please contact to express interest.

No description available

London Committee

Emily Riley

Card Geotechnics LimitedChair & EGGS Committee Member
Gary EvansPlowman CravenSecretary
Cameron HughesArupTreasurer
Pishun TantivangphaisalImperial College LondonCommunications Officer & ISSGME YMPG Liaison Officer
Ben Marriott
Mott MacDonald
Academic Liaison Officer
Charles HooperCard Geotechnics LimitedSocial Media Liaison
Monica Sechi
Expanded GeotechnicalCooling Prize Representative
Ioannis VazaiosArupBTSYM Representative
Truong LeImperial College LondonGeneral Member
Ana Isabel PirroneOffshore Wind Consultants LimitedGeneral Member
Palak ShuklaRendel LtdGeneral Member
Irina ShmelevaAECOMGeneral Member
Sajjad R PeimaA-squared studioGeneral Member
Alexander McilroyAECOMGeneral Member
Matthew LambKeltbrayGeneral Member

South West Committee

Safrizal KasriGeoequip MarineChair
Rishi SharmaTony Gee and PartnersCommunications Officer (South-West)

North Committee

Julia HillRoger Bullivant
General Member
Fiona ConnorGavin & Doherty GeosolutionsGeneral Member
Ellie ScottWJ GroundwaterGeneral Member

BGA ECG Alumni

Henry TaylerArupECG Chair (2013-2018) - London
Nick FearnheadBalfour BeattyECG Secretary (2013-2016) - London
Dimitrios DaskalopoulosAECOMECG Secretary (2016-2018) - London
Aliki KokkinouAECOMECG Comms Officer (2017-2020) - London
Francesca WaldronBlackrock Expert ServicesECG Chair (2018-2021) - London
Tony BowermanMott MacDonaldECG Secretary (2018-2021) - London
Chris BeynonKeltbrayECG Treasurer - London
Thomas West Volker Ground EngineeringECG North Committee

Become a Member

Join the British Geotechnical Association to keep up to date with the latest BGA news